top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemia caviness

Service

Updated: Feb 9, 2021

After altering the basis of my project from interior design into publishing a book, I have decided to change what I am doing for community service from helping the homeless to holding a book drive for underfunded elementary schools in my county. There is a huge funding, education and resource gap between elementary schools and families in my county so I really want to help by collecting book donations from people to donate to underprivileged schools, shelters, and or families in need.

There are many benefits of growing up around a book-filled environment. A study, published recently in Social Science research which assessed data from 160,000 adults from 31 countries, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, Turkey, Japan and Chile showed how “Growing up with few books in the home resulted in below average literacy levels. Being surrounded by 80 books boosted the levels to average, and literacy continued to improve until libraries reached about 350 books” (Smithsonian Magazine).

I grew up going to a privileged elementary school in my town, and it makes me sad to think that other elementary schools or families in my county don’t have enough funding or resources for items such as books. Books were such a huge part of my life in elementary school as well as so many other children’s lives. I want to make a difference in my area by helping make sure everyone has access to enough books. Because of the financial gap between so many areas and elementary schools in my county, by the time everyone from these different schools get to high school, the education gap is so huge, causing lasting impact on how the rest of their lives play out. My cause relates to two of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, quality education and reduced inequalities, and my hope is that I can make some sort of impact locally where I live toward these goals.

Part of my project is going to be publishing hopefully more than 1 book on amazon full of my poetry and illustrations, and possibly a children’s book as well. I plan on donating part of my sales from my books to the underprivileged schools, shelters, and or families I will be donating to and use part of the money to buy brand new hardcover books for this cause.

For my book drive, I will be spreading the word on Next Door and other social media platforms as well as by word of mouth and flyers. I am in touch with Leigh Ann Bostian, who is a retired librarian from the Elementary School I went to as a kid. She is very in tune with the need regarding the underprivileged schools in my county and has many other connections to other librarians from across my town and county. She is also very experienced in books and publishing as well and I can’t wait to get her insight about where and what I should donate. I am also planning on contacting a social worker in my area to use as my out-of-school expert.


Here are other organization that are helping with the same cause I am will be donating to:




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My book is for sale!

My book is for sale and I published it on Blurb! Book description: This book is a sampling of my poetry and illustrations in watercolor and ink. I have always had a passion for art, interior design an

Challenge

Publishing a book has always been a dream of mine so senior projects seemed like the perfect time to finally accomplish this goal. I love creating art and writing poetry in my free time so it is going

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page